80 Years of Caldecott Winners


This is another wonderful post from Jennie!

A Teacher's Reflections

For all you book lovers, this year marks the 80th year of the prestigious Caldecott Medal Award.

The Randolph Caldecott Medal annually recognizes the preceding year’s “most distinguished American picture book for children”, beginning with 1937 publications.

This award is presented to the artist (illustrator) , while the Newbery Medal is presented to the author for literature.

I knew nothing of this award until I visited our library when my children were young.  I quickly learned to spot the emblem, the gold seal affixed to the  cover of the book.  For me, it was a huge help in selecting books.  So, if you see a gold or silver (2nd place) emblem on a book, like the one below, rest assured it is an excellent book.

The Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art in Amherst, Massachusetts currently has on display all eighty Caldecott winning books.  All eighty.  I was a…

View original post 165 more words

2 thoughts on “80 Years of Caldecott Winners

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s