Back From the Writers Digest Conference!

Standard

new-york-540807_960_720

(https://pixabay.com)

I have not posted anything in the last few days because I have been busy at the 2017 Writers Digest Conference in New York City, and it was a great time! If you are a writer, and you want to learn more about the world of publishing and to have an opportunity to pitch to agents, then I recommend this conference to you.

I attended many sessions with publishing professionals and writers, and I learned something useful at each session, including about writing, marketing, and various other aspects of the world of publishing.  I met and networked with other writers, and that was also extremely important and valuable. To those I met, it was delightful, and I hope we keep in contact.

stopwatch-2624277_960_720

(https://pixabay.com)

Perhaps the most exciting event was the Agent Pitch Slam, which is essentially like speed dating, with a strictly enforced 3 minute maximum with each agent, and then the writers move on. If a writer does well in pitching his/her book, then they might see 6-8 agents. I was able to pitch to 7, and one requested my entire manuscript–my YA novel The Ameriad: The Monastery of Knowledge by Charles F. French! Now, I know that is not a guarantee, but it is a major step forward, and I am excited about it.

I also want to say thank you very much to my in-laws, who very graciously opened their home to me while I attended the conference. They are wonderful people, and I love them.   Again, thank you!

thank-you-515514_960_720

(https://pixabay.com)

32 thoughts on “Back From the Writers Digest Conference!

  1. Good for you!! What an excellent opportunity! I’m hoping to make it next year, or even the year after. It’ll be a hell of a travel for me, but it’s definitely on the top of my long term goals list! Maybe when I can make it another year, I’ll see you there 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

