What are you reading?

Standard

light-465350_960_720

(https://pixabay.com)

Occasionally, I write a post in which I ask this question, and it has been some time, so I wanted to ask all of you again: what are you currently reading?

I am reading Aggravated Momentum by Didi Oviatt;

In The Garden of Beasts by Erik Larson;

Surrender, New York by Caleb Carr;

and rereading for classes that I teach at the Wescoe School of Muhlenberg College:

Macbeth by William Shakespeare

and Dracula by Bram Stoker.

book-863418_960_720

(https://pixabay.com)

I wish Happy Reading to all!

69 thoughts on “What are you reading?

  1. artemisdelmar

    The Firebrand and the First Lady, Patricia Bell-Scott
    Sappho
    Redeployment, Phil Klay
    100 Best Poems of All Time, Leslie Pockell (Her Personal Fav’s)
    Maya Angelou Poems
    Confederacy of Dunces, John Keneddy Toole

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I never thought about it, but Dracula and Macbeth make an interesting pair — heroic, noble-born characters gone bad each in his own interesting way — heroes and villains and the intricate moral fluidity of human motivation — I like it!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. aphrodite smiles

    The last book I read was Lisey’s Story by Stephen King (which was excellent, btw), and I’ve been looking for something to focus my reading eyes onto. Think I’ll find some good suggestions here.. : )

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Good list! I’ll have to look some of them up. I’ve only read one by Erik Larson–Devil in the White City, a favorite of mine.

    I am usually reading at least ten books at one time, though I’m probably more focused on two or three. A few I’m reading right now:

    My Cousin Rachel by Daphne DuMaurier (a re-read)
    Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (yes, British edition, also the Gryffindor special edition–a friend ordered & sent it to me) by J.K. Rowling, of course.
    A Treasury of Victorian Murder Compendium by Rick Geary
    Take Joy: A Book for Writers by Jane Yolen (re-read)
    A Poetry Handbook by Mary Oliver
    and The Triggering Town by Richard Hugo

    Like

  5. I just finished The Salmon of Doubt, by Douglas Adams. I’m halfway through The Magician’s Curse by Linda G. Hill, and am thinking of starting on The Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling.

    Like

  6. Doris

    Right now I’m reading an old Nora Roberts, The Villa, which is quite a good suspense story. I recently read Magdalen Girls by VS Alexander, which I highly recommend. It is set in Dublin, Ireland in 1962, & tells the story of young girls, who due to real or otherwise disciplinary problems are placed in a convent which runs a laundry. The convent, once a place of refuge becomes a workhouse of abuse of the girls..

    Like

  7. I always love this question! I am re-reading Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret. (Judy Blume). I am actually on a re-reading kick lately. I just finished re-reading The Big Leap (Gay Hendricks) and The War of Art (Steven Pressfield). I am also currently reading The Other Einstein (Marie Benedict). I recently watched the Einstein Series on the National Geographic channel and was left wanting to know more about Maleva, and then this book appeared! YAY!

    Like

Leave a Reply

