Quotations on Reading

Standard

Ray_Bradbury_(1975).jpg

(https://en.wikipedia.org)

“You don’t have to burn books to destroy a culture. Just get people to stop reading them.”

                                                                           Ray Bradbury

 

Joyce_carol_oates_2014

(https://en.wikipedia.org)

“Reading is the sole means by which we slip, involuntarily, often helplessly, into another’s skin, another’s voice, another’s soul.”

                                                                          Joyce Carol Oates

 

carl-sagan-647717_960_720

(https://pixabay.com)

“One glance at a book and you hear the voice of another person, perhaps someone dead for 1,000 years. To read is to voyage through time.”

                                                                          Carl Sagan

21 thoughts on “Quotations on Reading

  1. Bradbury’s quote for me spoke at the forefront of what should be important in today’s society. I loved Joyce Carol’s words because reading is like that for me.

    For me, books were an escape from the confines of my real world. In my imagination, books were the gateway to far away places and destinations I never thought possible.

    Like

  2. Bradbury’s quote speaks at the forefront of what should be important in today’s society.

    I loved Joyce Carol Oates’ words about reading because it has been that way for me as a person who reads books.

    For me books were an escape from the confines of my real world. In my imagination, books were the gateway to far away places, ideas and destinations I never thought possible.

    Like

  3. Hello Jennie,
    Such a wonderful idea for your post. I love them all but I think the one that stands out best for me is by Joyce Carol Oates.
    Thank you for bringing these to us. I haven’t read them until now…
    💐✨✨

    Like

Leave a Reply

