Best TV Shows of the 1950s and 1960s—Part Two: Star Trek

Standard

This post is the second in my series on favorite television shows of the 1950s and 1960s.

charles french words reading and writing

startrek-393861_960_720

(https://pixabay.com)

I am continuing the series I began about what I consider to be the best TV shows of the 1950s and 1960s and representative example episodes of those shows. For this post, I am going to talk about Star Trek, the original version, which ran from 1966-1969. I will be dating myself, but this show ran when I had just become a young teenager, and it had huge influence on me.

I remember looking forward all week to the next episode and wondering what that week’s episode would be about.  Star Trek was filled with what were, at the time, wonderful special effects, but much more than that, great stories and deeply developed characters.

ST_TOS_Cast

(https://en.wikipedia.org)

I have many episodes that I think were very good, but one, in particular, stands out as excellent: “City On The Edge Of Forever.” It was written by the noted science-fiction author Harlan…

View original post 168 more words

12 thoughts on “Best TV Shows of the 1950s and 1960s—Part Two: Star Trek

  1. On of my very favorite Sci-Fi shows, STAR TREK! Beam me up Scottie!! What wonderful show that was and may the beginning of our cell phones, from what I read anyway from initial gentleman who first developed in cellphone. K. D. Wonderful post! Love it! 🙂

    Like

  2. Still one of my favorites. Used to come home from elementary school and watch reruns with my Mom while having an afternoon snack. Good times and good memories. Made me a lifelong Trekkie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

