Reading “Little House on the Prairie”, Then and Now

Standard

This is another wonderful example of excellent teaching from Jennie.

A Teacher's Reflections

I have two stories to tell; both happened on the same day this week, yet they are fourteen years apart.  Every year my last chapter reading book at school is Little House on the Prairie.  Here is what happened:

Story One:  My school’s annual presentation of a college scholarship to a former student happened this week.  Martha, the recipient, was a preschooler in my class, way back when.  As her winning essay was read aloud, these were her some of her words:

“I have been fortunate to grow up in an environment where a love of learning was instilled in me from a young age.  Between my mom and Jennie, adults read out loud to me multiple times a day.  They also encouraged me to ask questions and to be a curious learner, which led directly to my success in high school.”

Martha and Jennie…now

Martha was the quiet one…

View original post 463 more words

2 thoughts on “Reading “Little House on the Prairie”, Then and Now

Leave a Reply

