Favorite Horror Films of the 1960s: The Curse of the Werewolf

Standard

Hammer Studios continued to re-imagine the classic Universal monsters in this film.

charles french words reading and writing

Curseofthewerewolf

(https://en.wikipedia.org)

The decade of the 1960s saw the production of many horror films, some fairly standard offerings and some innovative. In 1961, Hammer Studios continued the re-imagining of classic horror characters, which they had begun with The Curse of Frankenstein and The Horror of Dracula, in the release of The Curse of the Werewolf. 

Movie audiences in 1961 were still very aware of the image of Universal Studios’ The Wolfman and its assorted sequels with Lon Chaney Jr. as Larry Talbot, the unfortunate and reluctant lycanthrope. Talbot, a good man, was cursed to become a killing monster after having been bitten by a werewolf while attempting, unsuccessfully, to save a girl from its attack. This cinematic image was one that would be very difficult to alter for the horror viewing audience.

While not making viewers forget Lon Chaney Jr. and Larry Talbot, The Curse of the Werewolf, directed by…

View original post 434 more words

10 thoughts on “Favorite Horror Films of the 1960s: The Curse of the Werewolf

  1. My brother had really sadistic little friends who made me watch this stuff as a little kid when I was at their house. Clearly, I still haven’t recovered. Honestly, I just thought it was hilarious, think, “The Creature from the Black Lagoon”, and that stupid Japanese monster made from radioactivity, what was that things name, oh yeah, “Godzilla” The best were “The Voyages of Simbad” (SP?) or something. The dance with the skeletons was awesome.
    But I still cannot sleep with the closet door open because of “The 50 Foot Woman.” It became a childhood phobia, and till this day, I still say, “Please close the closet, the 5o foot woman may be in there.
    I wonder why I thought closing the closet door would keep her out? Especially when she demolished a whole town looking for her unfaithful husband husband Harry. And just thinking about what she did to poor little Harry, clutched from the bar where he was carousing, in her 50 foot hands, brings on an unwelcome frisson of terror.

    Like

    • I think when we are children many “monsters” come from unseen places, like under the bed or in the closet, and keeping the door shut would be magic against them. I am not sure if my explanation works or not.

      Like

  2. My gosh. I wrote this huge long comment, sent it, and it got deleted. Makes me sad. I’m not going to try and redo it. You bring up a lot of memories for me with these posts and I was rifting about it…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

