Stephen King’s Quotations on Writing

Standard

Stephen_King,_Comicon

(https://en.wikipedia.org)

“Amateurs sit and wait for inspiration, the rest of us just get up and go to work.”

“If you want to be a writer, you must do two things above all others: read a lot and write a lot. There’s no way around these two things that I’m aware of, no shortcut.”

 

“Let me say it again: You must not come lightly to the blank page.”

 

All quotations from:

King, Stephen On Writing: A Memoir Of The Craft 10th Anniversary Edition. 

14 thoughts on “Stephen King’s Quotations on Writing

  1. I loved this guy since long ago, but I sort of distrust when people tell other people how they should do something. If I had listened to these sorts of directions in my life, I would never have done anything but try to follow their path which wouldn’t actually work for me. I wonder why people feel they need directions? The direction I would give someone is absolutely none.

    Like

    • Sometimes directions can be useful as guidance. I find his best advice it to read everyday and write everyday. No one should, however, base what they do on what other people say.

      Like

Leave a Reply

