Writing Progess: An Update

Standard

wp-1476386546701-maledicus

It has been a long time since I have done a post about my writing progress, so I thought I would mention what I am doing. I self-published Maledicus: The Investigative Paranormal Society, Book I last October. Since then, I completed what I hope is a very good draft  — draft 4 — of my YA novel, The Ameriad: The Monastery of Knowledge, which I am in the process of submitting to agents and editors.

air-mail-1293866__340

(https://pixabay.com)

I am close to being done with draft 1 of Gallow’s Hill: The Investigative Paranormal Society, Book II. My goal is to have the initial draft done this coming week, and then I will do heavily focused revisions, one after another over the next couple of months.  I hope to release it in October.

pencil-918449__340

(https://pixabay.com)

I also should be able to release a Spanish language version of Maledicus: The Investigative Paranormal Society, Book I  in October. And I am looking into an audible edition.

typewriter-801921__340

(https://pixabay.com)

When I am done with these projects, then I will work on one of two books I have already drafted and need revisions. Plus, I have many other tales waiting their turns to be written.

 

wp-1476386546701-maledicus

 

Please follow the following links to find my novel:

ebook

Print book

Thank you!

The book trailer:

Maledicus:Investigative Paranormal Society Book I

My radio interview:

interview

23 thoughts on “Writing Progess: An Update

  1. Charles, this is so exciting. Really! Please beam me some of your energy. I find that my book writing cannot be done during the school year. Summer is a much lighter work schedule. I am ready! What made you decide to submit your YA book to agents and editors? Keep the updates coming, please!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jennie, Thank you!I try to submit all of my writing to agents first, but if it is taking too long, then I will self-publish. Ideally, I would like to be
      a hybrid writer, both traditionally and self-published.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sounds like an excellent plan, Charles. Initially I submitted to most of the major publishers, then began with lit agents. I will pick that back up again when school ends in a few weeks. Fortunately I have the help of writing the query letter from a friend and former student who worked for Harper Collins. Depending on the lit agent, my query letter is about my children’s book(s) or bundling my blog posts into a book for teachers and parents. No quitting, here. Just like you. I am so excited for you YA book. Have you read books by Kate DiCamillo? Have you read Wonder? Apologies for rambling. Just excited for you.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Your update leads me to ask a couple of questions, if I may. Did you start writing fairly recently because you hadn’t had the time or were not that motivated to write? I am amazed by everything you have in the works. Were you able to write two books at once? And if you were, are they vastly different to keep the thought processes separate?

    How long will you attempt to contact editors, literary agents or the like before you decide to self publish? I apologize for the bombardment of questions. I find you very knowledgeable and would appreciate your thoughts.

    Like

    • Thank you for your questions. I started about 7 years ago, because my wife encouraged me to commit to it instead of just occasionally writing, so I did. Since then, I try to draft a book, and at the same time, revise another. The most important thing to remember is to have the discipline to write almost every day and to read also. I will try to contact agents for at least one year before going the self-published route. Is that the correct time? I really am not sure, but it is what I am doing. I hope this helps.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you so much. It does help. I wish you continued success. I thought you were writing two books at a time. I don’t think I am capable of such a thing, but I really like the revise/write scheme. I do not know if that is the correct scheme for contacting agents. I did it until I lost my patience. Let’s just say patience is not my strong suit. 😀 Thanks again!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. No grass growing under your feet with all that keeping your mind moving. Summer break must come as some relief to you giving you more time for personal writing. An audible version is always nice. I’m listening to more and more books these days. I mentioned your book to my daughter and she is going to read it first. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

