Isabelle’s Story

Standard

This is an excellent example of extraordinary teaching!

A Teacher's Reflections

I read-aloud at the library; great literature and a captive audience of children. Isabelle is part of my book group that includes first and second graders.  As the year has progressed she has grown from shy and quiet to relaxed and chatty.  Isabelle has never missed my reading aloud.  I have a theory about that, but I’m jumping ahead.  This is Isabelle’s story:

Our current read-aloud book is The Story of Doctor Dolittle by Hugh Lofting.  This week we read about travelling to the sick monkeys in Africa.  When I read the sentence, “They always had plenty to eat and drink, because Chee-Chee and Polynesia knew all the different kinds of fruits and vegetables that grow in the jungle, and whereto find them…” Isabelle said, “I ate wonderful fruit in Bali.”

I knew Isabelle had lived in Bali.  But, this was different.  The way she said it, talking about the…

View original post 448 more words

4 thoughts on “Isabelle’s Story

  1. I so loved this one! It made me remember my own time living in other countries as a child of the military… The best time to live in another country is indeed when you are a kid — a living sponge for nuance and detail. Thank you, professor…you always find the good posts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

