What is One of Your Favorite Books?

Standard

book-1014197_960_720

(https://pixabay.com)

I am a teacher, a writer, and a lover of books. I cannot remember a time when I could not read, and the simple act of reading a book is one of the best pleasures in life.  So, I was thinking today about a book, one of my all time favorites: The Shadow Of The Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon, that I am using in an Independent Study at Muhlenberg College. This novel is brilliant, funny, witty, Gothic, romantic, and deeply engaging.  Can you tell I love it?

Here is a quotation from the back cover of the paperback:

“Wondrous . . . masterful . . . The Shadow Of The Wind is ultimately a love letter to literature, intended for readers as passionate about storytelling as its young hero.”

Entertainment Weekly, Editor’s Choice

So, I ask you: what is one of your favorite books?

 

question-mark-2123969_960_720

(https://pixabay.com)

wp-1476386546701-maledicus

 

Please follow the following links to find my novel:

ebook

Print book

Thank you!

The book trailer:

Maledicus:Investigative Paranormal Society Book I

My radio interview:

interview

67 thoughts on “What is One of Your Favorite Books?

  1. Gosh that is hard to choose. I would have to ask myself which one I would read again. I read a lot of crime fiction so it is difficult to have a desire to read that novel again when you know “whodunnit.” So I would have to say a more descriptive emotionally intriguing book like Smilla’s feeling for Snow, or one by the author Nikki Gemmel, Lovesong or Shiver!

    Like

  2. “One?” Impossible! Off the Top of My Head: Great Gatsby, Once and Future King, Watership Down, virtually anything by C.S. Lewis or G.K. Chesterton, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, I Am Legend, To Kill a Mockingbird, Invisible Man (Ellison or Wells–take your pick), Slaughterhouse Five… (etc., etc.) More recent reads: Song of Fire and Ice series (Game of Thrones), Magicians trilogy (Lev Grossman), The Kite Runner, A Room With a View, The Wright Brothers (McCullough), Horatio Hornblower series (grown-up kid here)…

    Like

  3. Oh….The Last Unicorn by Peter Beagle! That was the absolute last time I remember being a kid, flopped on my bed and devouring the whole thing in one luscious, mythical afternoon! And of course The Divine Comedy by Dante….ALWAYS DANTE!!!!

    Like

  4. I’ll have to go with Chandler’s Farewell, My Lovely. I’ve probably read it cover-to-cover six times, and I always discover gems I’d previously overlooked.

    Like

  5. Women's voice club

    I think that my fav so far is “The Elegance of the Hedgehog” by Muriel Barbey. It touched me deep inside. Now I’m about to start “The shadow of the wind” that my sister gave me a couple of weeks ago 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What a difficult decision. As a child, my favorite book was Jane Eyre, but now there are so many to choose from, however, if I must I choose, I choose Oliver Twist and The Discovers: a History of Man’s Search to Know his World and Himself….and …. (I should stop now). K D 🙂

    Like

  7. I can’t pick a favorite, but some that will stay with me for a long, long time, are: The Lovely Bones, Child of Good, The Glass Castle, Stranger in a Strange Land, The Hangman’s Daughter, Blood Meridian, Wuthering Heights, The Light of Fireflies, Tell the Wolves I’m Home….
    I could go on and on; there are so many great books!

    Like

  8. Although a seemingly simple question, it requires much thought for those of us who have read so many books. I wonder what that says about an avid reader? Does that make me sound not a serious reader, but only a serial reader?

    Like

Leave a Reply

