A Day at the Art Museum – Inspiring Children

Standard

This post is a very important piece on the importance of art for children. And I should add, for all people.

A Teacher's Reflections

Art and preschoolers go hand-in-hand.  If I want children to feel excited and inspired by art, it must begin with me.  I recently visited the Currier Museum of Art in Manchester, New Hampshire and… oh my!

Let me back up.  I want to talk about real with young children.  This is important. Learning and joy come from playing with real things; tree stumps for building, tools at a workbench, cooking, forging through snow without sleds or shovels, live animals, musical instruments.  When I introduce something real, every child instantly wants to ‘be there’. Art is no exception.

img_2253

I was struck by this painting, a view of Mount Washington in 1880, by Gamaliel Beaman. Then I looked closely.  This is what I saw:

img_2251

Every brush stroke.  Raised paint.  Light.  Intense color.  I was inches away from a masterpiece.  Real.  

Art.  I need to share all of these real elements…

View original post 269 more words

12 thoughts on “A Day at the Art Museum – Inspiring Children

Leave a Reply

