A Friendly Reading Challenge

Standard

book-1332161_960_720

(https://pixabay.com)

Reading is essential for writers. Reading stimulates our imagination and enables us to enter many others worlds without leaving the comfort of our homes. Reading is one of our lifebloods,the source for much of our inspiration and ideas. Without reading, writers cannot be successful.

Reading is also on of the great joys of life, and it is one of the most important activities that everyone can do, regardless of being a writer or not. Reading, for me, is one of the central parts of my life. It is why it is part of the title of my blog: charlesfrenchonwordsreadingandwriting.wordpress.com

So, I am issuing a friendly challenge to anyone reading this post: read at least two books this month, and at the end of the month, let us know what you read. There is no pressure in this little challenge, no competition, and no awards. I hope it simply encourages everyone to read a few books!

Even though it is the beginning of the challenge, I will tell you that I am currently reading: The Graves Are Walking: The Great Famine and the Saga of the Irish People by John Kelly and The Last Mile by David Baldacci. One is an historical look at the Great Irish Famine and the other a thriller.

So, are you up to the challenge? What will you read?

book-1014197_960_720

(https://pixabay.com)

 

 

39 thoughts on “A Friendly Reading Challenge

  1. I’m reading A Handful of Dust by Evelyn Waugh at the moment. It’s pretty well written and I like the style, just not all that keen on any of the characters (though I think that might be the point). Not sure what else I’ll read this month.

    Like

  2. I just got “The Gnostic Gospels” by Elaine Pagels. It will take awhile. Most of my reading is lighter right now. Jan/Feb lend themselves to cozy mysteries. Spring revs me up again. Just finished ” The Peculiar Miracles of Antoinette Martin by Stephanie Knipper. Also ” The Unfinished Work of Elizabeth D. by Nichole Bernier. Time to go read something besides blogs now. Those come in faster than I can keep up with most days. Always reading but not usually stuff anyone else reads. Still working on “The Field” by Lynne McTaggart. I may end up doing that on audible to complete it.

    ,

    Like

  3. Women's voice club

    Hello! “The Thirteenth Tale ” by Diane Setterfield is the one I’m about to read. “Paradise Lost” by John Milton is what am currently reading. I’m a bit slow I’m afraid 🙂

    Like

  4. Hello there!
    I am currently reading a book called “Spiritual Economics” by Eric Butterworth.
    I love to read.
    I actually have to keep myself from devouring a book 🙂
    I’m doing my very best to learn to savor them 🙂

    Like

  5. Doris

    I recently read In the Garden of the Beasts, a non-fiction by Erik Larson. It is set in Hitler’s Berlin during the 30s. an excellent read that puts you right into political climate at that time.

    The book that I have just finished is All the stars in the Heavens, a novel by Adriana Trigiani set in the Golden Age of Hollywood.. The main story is about the life of Loretta Young & those around her. Very enjoyable. I googled her & found that a lot of what is written is true.

    Now I am starting Mookie, (Life, Baseball & the ’86 Mets). It is written by Mookie Wilson with Eric Sherman. Being a big baseball fan & long time rooter of the Mets, I’m sure that I will thoroughly enjoy it.

    Like

  6. artemisdelmar

    Well aside from the books I have read for my classes which are The Martian Chronichles, Something Wicked This Way Comes, Candide, All Quiet on The Western Front, Undoing the Demos, Man the State and War, I am reading Maledicus and The Opposite of Lonliness (these two are for pleasure).

    🙂

    Like

  7. artemisdelmar

    Reblogged this on palabras DelMar and commented:
    Here is a fun challenge for this month. If you aren’t following Charles French check out his blog HERE. He is an author, professor extraordinaire and great mentor.

    Like

  8. Thanks for the challenge Charles. Didn’t get my 2 in February, but finished three in March. American Sniper by Chris Kyle, Calde of the Long Sun by Gene Wolfe, and Relic by Preston and Child. Trying to keep that momentum up in April.

    Like

Leave a Reply

