What Book Would You Visit?

Standard

books-1655783_960_720

(https://pixabay.com)

As readers and writers, we create new worlds and engage with places built by other writers. Our imaginations inform our lives and give us gifts of wonder. I have often considered what it would be like if it were possible to enter into the world of a book, if it would be anything like I had imagined as I read it, or if that place would be entirely different. What would it be like if we found a key that allowed us to unlock a sealed door, behind which was the world of a book?

hobbiton-1890838_960_720

(https://pixabay.com)

If I could visit any book, I would choose J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Lord Of  The Rings. This work has been deeply important to me for most of my life, since I discovered it as a young teenager. I never cease to find the tale compelling, complex, and humanistic. Tolkien’s treatment of mythology and fantasy showed me that the creation of worlds is not an act of mere escapism but a way to shine a light on our world.

ring-1671094_960_720

(https://pixabay.com)

When I ask this question, I do not mean that you would necessarily engage with the characters or situations of the world, but that you would have the option of being an observer of its actualities as they are in the book. So, if you choose to answer, remember that you would not have to place yourself in any kind of danger, and you could have a visit of exploration instead.

So, given that option, I ask: what book would you like to visit?

wp-1476386546701-maledicus

 

Please follow the following links to find my novel:

ebook

Print book

Thank you!

The book trailer:

Maledicus:Investigative Paranormal Society Book I

My radio interview:

interview

68 thoughts on “What Book Would You Visit?

  1. I’d love to say Lord of the Rings or any Jane Austen novel but I also know how much I love indoor plumbing and denim pants so I think I’ll stick to reading about those places. I would absolutely take the Heart of Gold from Hitchhiker’s Guide for a spin though.

    Like

  2. All my life, well since my youth when I read the series, I’ve wanted to walk through that wardrobe into Narnia. To this day, I hold a tiny sliver of hope and you might even catch me feeling the back wall of a closet or two. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Oh, my! My choice is the barn in Charlotte’s Web. My husband wants to do a PG year at Hogwarts, while I would love to accompany him as a first year student. Isn’t reading the best?

    Like

  4. artemisdelmar

    This is a great question and one that is difficult to answer. I think I would like to go for a walk through Winesburg, Ohio, then I would like to visit Kate and Bianca’s home in Taming of the Shrew a pit stop at Hogwarts. Then, I may also want to visit the pages of the Lorax too and I can’t forget the pages of Ovid’s Metamorphoses in order to watch the mayhem of the gods of old/

    Like

  5. So many possibilities. It’s hard to choose just one. My mind has already traveled inside most of my favorites. (Including Lord of the Rings) Julie of the Wolves has always been one of my favorite childhood stories, so let’s go with that one. I’d love to run with her pack.

    Like

  6. What a fabulous post! I love fairy tales, so I would jump right into Cinderella and then Hans Christian Anderson’s Best-Loved Fairy Tales by Fall River Press, 2012 and then Grimm’s Complete Fairy Tales, also published by Fall River Press as well. I guess, though, Snow White as a single story would be my second choice, and then there are the Mermaid stories…..and….

    Like

  7. This is difficult to decide. There are a number if books I would love to visit, including most of Jane Austen’s books, the Bronte sisters, Gulliver’s Travel’s, Wizard of Oz. That’s hardly a third of it!

    Like

  8. There are so many worlds to choose from! I would definitely be joining you in Middle-Earth, spend some time in the Shire and Rivendell. I would love to visit V.E. Schwab’s Londons in the Shades of Magic series. I’d even be down with spending time in some H.P. Lovecraft’s New England towns.

    Like

  9. Heartafire

    i would enter American Tragedy ( the only book that I have ever rooted for the villian) It takes a brilliant writer such as the likes of Theodore Dreiser to pull that off 🙂

    Like

  10. “Animal Farm”
    I would LOVE to hear the animals ‘sing’ “Beasts of England”
    LOL!
    No seriously, I’ll have to give this a little more thought.
    I’ll be back 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

