Maya Angelou

Standard

This post is an excellent discussion of a children’s book by Maya Angelou.

A Teacher's Reflections

Did you know that Maya Angelou wrote a children’s book?  She did, back in 1994.  I have been reading her book to my preschoolers long before I really knew of her.

I was always drawn to her quote in the introduction of the book:

To all the children, for they are the hope of humankind.

Yes!  This statement was so profound, so direct, and so right.  It crawled under my skin and made me think.  Hard.  Every time I read the book, I read the quote.

My Painted House, My Friendly Chicken and Me

img_2219

The story of a child in South Africa, her family, and her best friend, a chicken.  Maya tells a tale that is engaging to children and full of interesting facts.  She manages to weave words that are as powerful as they are simple:

All children are hope for their families, and many Ndebele girls are named…

View original post 85 more words

7 thoughts on “Maya Angelou

  1. I read this on the original blog post. Jennie is a teacher that I wish I’d had or my children had during their school years. Love her blog and the things I learn there. Maya Angelou was a truly remarkable woman that inspired so many of us and still does through her writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

