Cthulhu Worshippers: Is the Rise of Themed Anthologies Good For Horror?

Standard

This post is an excellent discussion of the writing of horror.

Zombie Salmon (the Horror Continues)

When I recently looked across the sea of my past years’ Horror purchases, I was struck by just how many Lovecraft anthologies there were. Themed anthologies are on the steady increase – collections dedicated to one author’s established universe, one established monster, or one Horror concept. And of those themes, the work of H.P. Lovecraft absolutely dominates. Yet as open-minded as I try to be in my Horror story collecting, I found an alarming amount of tentacles on my shelves.

Herein lay a truth: I am a sucker for tentacles. I enjoy reading Lovecraftian fiction…but I do not tend to write it.

So if I did not purchase more generic modern collections, what did it mean? Were they not out there? Granted, I discriminate against vampire collections and I have not yet dipped my toes into steampunk-tinted Horror… But the prolific dominance of Lovecraft struck me as more than coincidence.

View original post 2,671 more words

8 thoughts on “Cthulhu Worshippers: Is the Rise of Themed Anthologies Good For Horror?

  1. In my first novel, a middle grade book for 12-year-old-people, I created, drew, illustrated this gigantic octopus monster under the sea that was inhabited by an alien, its tentacles were huge and it was evil. I happen to be terrified of octopus tentacles. Do you think, perhaps, we write scary stories about things we deeply fear? I really hadn’t thought about that possible prior to your post and thank you. K. D. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

