Why Do I Write?

Standard

I was asked this question several times over the last couple of years, often at writing conferences by other writers. I was thinking about it today, and my answer is deceptively simple: I write because I have stories to tell, characters to give life to, and because I love books.

books-21849__340

(https://pixabay.com)

I believe in the power of words to communicate between the author and the readers as  I believe in the connection of human beings. All stories, no matter the genre, speak to that connection. I remain an eternal optimist and see writing as an expression of that hope. I see the journey into the imagination as creating not only places of wonder but possibilities for the growth of empathy and compassion. I see writing as a way to question society as well as to show its strengths. Mostly though, I am able to tell the stories I have within me.

once-upon-a-time-719174__340

(https://pixabay.com)

So here is my question to anyone who might wish to answer: why do you write?

question-mark-1616980__340

(https://pixabay.com)

wp-1476386546701-maledicus

 

Please follow the following links to find my novel:

ebook

Print book

Thank you!

The book trailer:

Maledicus:Investigative Paranormal Society Book I

My radio interview:

interview

51 thoughts on “Why Do I Write?

  1. I write for very similar reasons to you. I have a story to tell, so I write it. I love stories, if I felt at all ready to do so in any way I’d consider writing plays, screen plays, poetry… anything that tells a story. Short stories, long stories, it doesn’t really matter.
    But I also think I write because I want to entertain. I haven’t thought deep down in my soul for why I seek to entertain others, I’m sure there’s some psychological reason for it. However, that moment when someone who really appreciates literature has finished reading something you wrote and there’s a look of wonder in their eyes, when you truly make them feel with your words. That’s a pretty special thing isn’t it?

    Liked by 2 people

  2. reminds me of this:

    “Go into yourself. Find out the reason that commands you to write; see whether it has spread its roots into the very depths of your heart; confess to yourself whether you would have to die if you were forbidden to write.

    This most of all: ask yourself in the most silent hour of your night: must I write? Dig into yourself for a deep answer. And if this answer rings out in assent, if you meet this solemn question with a strong, simple “I must,” then build your life in accordance with this necessity; your whole life, even into its humblest and most indifferent hour, must become a sign and witness to this impulse. Then come close to Nature. Then, as if no one had ever tried before, try to say what you see and feel and love and lose…” – rainer rilke

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Hello Dear,

    You have a beautiful blog here. I loved your theme. Great content and the colours are easy on the eyes.I was intrigued to read it and was wondering if you and I could be collaborators. I am a new blogger and started my humble blog some three months ago and had almost 3,300 followers. I believe blogging community is the most supportive and encouraging community. I want some writers as well. I kept unwell and was looking for someone who would like to post on my blog too. I would be highly obliged if you take a look at my blog and allow me an opportunity to collaborate with you. I love to write and write for some Ezines and Webzines like Roberta Pimentel and The Millionaire’s Digest. I write poetry, free articles, short stories and all other things. I can write content you want and word limit can be followed too.

    😊🌹🙏❄️
    Warm Regards
    Sakhi
    Blueindigopink@gmail.com

    Like

  4. Reblogged this on Pen and Paper and commented:
    Author Charles F. French, author of Maledicus, offers to all interested, a question: Why, as writers, do you write? It seems as though for a writer this would be an easy question – a gimpy – but it is not. It complicated. I am plan to answer that question and so, why do writers feel so driven to write?

    Like

  5. Hello, I just wanted to stop by and say thank you for the follow.
    I write for reasons somewhat similar to yours, although my bottom line is a bit different. I write to create something I have control over. It’s a way to make up for spending the better part of my life into today not having complete control over my own life and myself. I want to make something from nothing and have the ability to play God (or Satan, if I wanted to). I write to express myself and the musings of this messed up mind of mine. To create something concrete of my own that has an impact on someone else is wonderful. I want to work on and get comfortable with as many types of creative writing as possible so my work is boundless.
    I hope to hear from you soon! Feel free to stop by and leave feedback or prompts anytime!
    -Author S

    Like

  6. I started out writing for therapeutic reasons-just to get my emotions out on a page. From there it has turned into that and more. I love writing as a form of self expression and an avenue for creativity. It just makes me feel really good.

    Like

  7. I write for many reasons: love of language, words and meanings, and because it allows me to let go, as well as find answers. For me, writing is a conversation I have with myself, both a seeking and a finding. That conversation is ongoing and sometimes I let others listen in. I like being heard a lot as well.

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

