The Pleasure of Reading

Standard

I wanted to repost this piece I did on reading from a couple of years ago.

charles french words reading and writing

book-clouds-873442_960_720

(https://pixabay.com)

I have spent the majority of my time on this blog writing about writing, so I thought I would address the most fundamental and most important part of this experience with books: reading.

I have been reading my entire life; in fact, I cannot remember a time when I did not read. And reading has informed my life in many ways, not only in terms of career but also in the joys of life itself.

I read books, I teach them, and I write about them, but mostly, I enjoy them. I remember my mother telling me when I was very little that you can go many places that you might not ever have a chance to visit, real and made up, if you read. And I have visited and continue to journey to real and fantastic lands.

narrative-794978__340

(https://pixabay.com)

I am not a reading snob. While I teach college…

View original post 138 more words

25 thoughts on “The Pleasure of Reading

  1. Thanks for reposting this. I missed it the first time.

    I have just started reading Maledicus and am enjoying it very much. So much, that I’d like to share it. The university where I work has many informal “book-shares”, and I think your book would be a popular addition; but I wondered how you would feel about it. On the one hand, it might deprive you of sales to have the book available to borrow for free. On the other hand, it would undoubtedly create interest in subsequent books. How would you feel about this? May I place Maledicus in the “share” box, or would you rather that I didn’t?

    Like

  2. I don’t think there has been a day that I have not read something. Liked this post the first time and agree that a variety of reading opens us up to new experiences. I read different material at different times of the day even. Light and funny before sleep or a bit of inspiration. I leave the heavier stuff for break time or early in the day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

