I Attended A Writing Conference This Last Weekend

Standard

new-york-city-801867_960_720

(https://pixabay.com)

I attended The Writers Digest Conference for 2016 in Manhattan this past weekend, and I had a wonderful time, and I learned a great deal of information about writing and publishing.

First I would like to give my deepest thanks to my extraordinary mother-in-law and father-in-law.  They are wonderful people, whom I love, and I am grateful for their hosting me for the weekend.  They live on Staten Island, and I made the commute to uptown Manhattan by bus, ferry, and bus. The part of the commute I loved was the ferry ride, which is still free.  I love any kind of boat or ship, so I felt as excited as a child to ride the ferry.

ferry-799428_960_720

(https://pixabay.com)

The conference was both fun and educational.  I was able to meet many other writers, attend valuable sessions that gave important information on a variety of subjects that writers need to know, and the agent pitch slam went very well.  During the pitch slam, each author has 3 minutes to pitch his/her book and take questions from the agent. If the agent is interested, he/she gives you a card and instructs what to send them. I pitched my YA book: The Ameriad: The Monastery of Knowledge to seven agents, and six requested I send them a variety of information.  While nothing is ever certain, I still consider that to be successful.

DBaldacci

(https://en.wikipedia.org)

Finally, I want to mention that author David Baldacci gave the main keynote address, and he was exciting, informative, honest, humble, and amusing.  He showed a very human side and was a very warm and gracious person.  I have read most of his books, and I think they are among the very best thrillers written.  As a person, from the little interaction I had with him, he struck me to be a warm and genuine human being.

This was a very successful experience, and I recommend it highly to any authors who can attend in the future.

 

21 thoughts on “I Attended A Writing Conference This Last Weekend

  1. It sounds like a really helpful event – and very well done on the pitch slam, as that’s a very high feedback rate:)). Fingers crossed you get further interest! I’ve not read any of David Baldacci’s books, but it’s always very gratifying (and a huge relief) when a favourite author turns out to be a thoroughly nice human being. I go to Fantasycon every year and have been fortunate enough to meet up with a number of my favourite authors, or see them in action on panels and only rarely found them to be anything other than approachable and friendly.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is exciting news. What a great conference, and clearly you did very well in your agent pitch slam (you are modest so I will say it). I would love to have been a fly on the wall, but I can look forward to buying and reading your YA book. So very happy for you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

