What book are you reading now?

Standard

book-clouds-873442_960_720

(https://pixabay.com)

Reading is both of one the greatest pleasures of life and one of the necessities for writers. It gives readers the chance to escape from the outside world and immerse themselves to a completely fictional place for a while, and it serves as a foundation upon which to learn and draw for writers.  To me, reading is one of the essential components of life. It is more than mere recreation; it is a central part of my being.

I do, however, read for pleasure as well as learning.  I count reading as one of the essential joys of life.

I am currently reading several books, but one that is probably the most well known is Stephen King’s End Of Watch, the completion of his detective/thriller trilogy that began with Mr. Mercedes and  then Finders Keepers. It is a brilliant piece of writing, and Mr. King delivers an extraordinary combination of the thriller and supernatural. I will not reveal any spoilers, but I do give it a top of the line recommendation.

My question to those who are reading this post: What book are you reading now or have recently read for pleasure?

library-1021724_960_720

(https://pixabay.com)

116 thoughts on “What book are you reading now?

  1. I read almost solely for pleasure and relaxation – I’ve recently completed Solar Express by L.E. Modesitt Jr and this morning finished An Accident of Stars by Foz Meadows. Both great reads for different reasons – it’s a wonderful hobby:))

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Like you, I go through more than one book at a time. This is the first time I’ve been behind schedule in getting through S. King’s and I’m in “Finders Keepers”. On the non-fiction side, I’m reading “The last Stand of the Tin Can Sailors” by James D. Hornfischer. This Wednesday, my copy of “Warpath Across the Pacific” by Lawrence J. Hickey of the IHRA, will be arriving, so I’ll be back to 3 at once. (especially since I’ll be doing a book review on the IHRA series.
    The IHRA blog – https://airwarworldwar2.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Currently reading in between other things, “The Magic of Shirley Jackson”. Basically it’s a whole bunch of her short stories in one big tome! Prior to that I was given an ARC of “The Jersey Devil” by Hunter Shea that is both work and pleasure. Work because I need to get the review written up for when the book comes out the first part of September. Pleasure because Hunter is an amazing writer and his novels are always a pleasure to read and review. Then, of course, reading for the TEN MILLIONTH (and final) time, my own next novel coming out in late September. *phew*

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Funny you should ask. Romances! As one of my DIY Writer’s Summer Camp, I read the anti-thesis of what I’m writing (SF). But I brought the good stuff: Georgette Heyer’s “Cotlilian” and “The Grand Sophy” – clever plots, funny dialogue, and sophisticated use of subplots to move the main plot forward.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Khaya Ronkainen

    I’m currently reading a translated ‘documentary novel’ Brecht at Night by Mati Unt, an Estonian writer. I must admit I’m not crazy about the present tense narrative but luckily the story is interesting enough to keep me turning the pages.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Bill Dale

    Just finshed The buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro (Remains of the Day) – absolutely haunting. Reading many things now among them T C Boyle’s Water Music and Gibson’s Neuromancer.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Finished Lamott’s Bird By Bird and King’s On Writing last week. This morning I started Gaiman’s American Gods and at 19:00 came up for air, water and to check my inbox 😀 If I survive this one I’ll start Morrison’s What Moves at the Marginnext. CHW! Oh! And I finished Bob Goss Love Does in “the library” and replaced it with a vintage paperback of Frank Yerby’s Judas, My Brother. I read it nearly 40 years ago and want to revisit. Sorry Charles, but you asked 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I have just finished “Raymie Nightingale” by Kate DiCamillo and am halfway through “The Secret Garden” by Frances Burnett. The book somehow escaped my childhood, so when we lost power I began reading it by candlelight on the back porch. Ahhh… summer and reading are the best! -Jennie- P.S. My next book will be “Beowulf” by Seamus Heaney. Gulp!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I just finished Neil Gaiman’s “The View From the Cheap Seats” and am starting “Sisters of Tomorrow: the First Women of Science Fiction” edited by Lisa Yaszek and Patrick Sharp… I am also knee deep in Thomas Olde Heuvelt’s “Hex”….

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Currently I’m reading a short story collection called Daddy Lenin by Guy Vanderhaeghe, and I recently finished a novel called Fifteen Dogs by Andre Alexis, both of which are quite strange but enjoyable.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I just finished Six Years by Harlan Coben…am currently reading We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson and D. O. A. 11–Extreme Horror Collection by various authors. Steven King’s End of Watch sits on my bedside table anxiously awaiting its turn.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Thanks for the King recommendation 🙂 I just finished The Goblin Emporer – a very unusual book because nothing happens and yet it was mesmerizing – great entertainment as well as a learning experience. Thanks for the follow. I’m delighted to connect.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Here are a few (there are a lot more) of my favorites from the past year (hope you don’t mind): The Storyteller, The Orphan Train, Unbroken, The Invention of Wings, Bastard out of Carolina, Cutting for Stone, The Secret Life of Bees, A Short History of Nearly Everything, The Book Thief, I Know why the Caged Bird Sings, The Goldfinch, The Enchanted, Grandma Gatewood’s Walk, and Sarah’s Key.

    I feel the same way as you about reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I just finished Pocket Wife by Susan Crawford which was quite good. A very good read recently was The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman. At the moment I am reading something light & humorous, Miss Julia Meets Her Match which is part of a Miss Julia series by Ann B. Ross.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Well i have to say that when I imagine heaven, it has the shape of a library like the one in your post 🙂 Currently I am reading the second book of the Wheel Of Time. The Great Hunt
    Fantasy books are my guilty pleasure!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Currently reading “Lords of the Bow, the epic story of the Khan dynasty” by Conn Iggulden. It’s the 2nd of five novels about the rise of Genghis Khan. All though it is considered fiction, the story is based on facts the author has researched on this fascinating history of human culture. It is a great read, I am enjoying it very much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

