Patrick’s Smashed Potatoes

Standard

This is a reblogging of a post about one my character’s recipes. This character, Patrick Franklin, appears in my horror novel Maledicus: Investigative Paranormal Society Book I

charles french words reading and writing

book-1292854_960_720

(https://pixabay.com)

This post continues a series of posts I have done featuring recipes from characters from my horror novel Maledicus: Investigative Paranormal Society Book I. Patrick Franklin, along with his twin brother Michael, is a secondary, but important, character in this book. He is a retired Marine Corps Officer who fought in the first battle of Fallujah in 2004 in the Iraqi War. He is the protagonist’s—Roosevelt Theodore Franklin—nephew and a strong supporting element in the story.

1-5_Marines_in_Fallujah_07_April_204

(https://en.wikipedia.org)

Like his uncle, Patrick prefers rustic and basic meals to that of haute cuisine. One of his favorite is what he calls smashed potatoes.

The recipe: (intended to feed 8-10 people at a large meal)
5 pounds of red potatoes
1 stick unsalted butter
1 cup heavy whipping cream
fresh paprika
fresh dill
fresh black pepper
coarse sea salt

*Rinse, clean, but do not peel the potatoes. Cut away any bad…

View original post 104 more words

8 thoughts on “Patrick’s Smashed Potatoes

  1. Patrick’s Mashed Potatoes sounds delicious and as a Beta reader for your manuscript I can see Patrick making those potatoes. I believe that Maledicus is far more than a horror story, it is in fact, a story of good vs. evil and the brave humans who are ready to fight for good, whatever the consequences. It is in fact written in a beautiful literary style with a strong focus on human foibles and strengths. The inner strength of these characters are at the heart of this complex human story.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Potatoes are rarely in my menu, but when they are, that’s pretty much how I like them. And when casting all care to the wind, one may as well add a nice reduction sauce or gravy. I too avoid horror stories – I lived one too long to return willingly, however I adore historical novels. I’m intrigued.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

