What Book Would You Choose To Be?

Standard

This is a reblogging of a post I wrote about a year ago, and I particularly enjoyed it.

charles french words reading and writing

fahrenheit-451

(http://mritsmith.wikispaces.com)

One of the central themes in the Young Adult novel I am writing is the issue of who controls knowledge and of book banning. I was thinking about it this morning, and I remembered an assignment I used in several classes that reflects this question. I have taught Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451, the most recently in a class on Banned Books.

book-406806__180

(https://pixabay.com)

Montag, the fireman book burner turned book lover, finds a group of people living on the outskirts of society, who are dedicated to the preservation of books by becoming living copies of the books. They choose a book, commit it completely to memory, and then find another young person to pass this knowledge to until the time comes when the books can be once again printed and read.To have my students understand this idea personally, I assign them to choose a book they love and to…

View original post 117 more words

2 thoughts on “What Book Would You Choose To Be?

  1. Choosing one, impossible. I should have to hop about as I get bored easily. Truly, I’ve read so many good books and know there are more to come. I would hate to limit myself…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

