March Writing Progress

Standard

machine-writing-1035292_960_720

https://pixabay.com

As I was working on a draft of one of my books yesterday, I realized that I had not give my monthly report on my writing progress.  My apologies for tardiness!

I received excellent feedback from a fellow blogger on my novel Evil Lives After –thank you!  I finished the 9th draft, and I am now currently working on smaller revisions for the 10th draft, which I hope will be done this month. Then I have to decide–do I keep trying to get an agent for it, or do I self-publish? I am leaning now towards self-publishing this book.

I am continuing timely progress with book 2 in my YA series. I expected to have about 100 pages written by the end of March, and I am exactly on target.  With this rate,  I will complete the first draft by the end of June.  It will also keep me on my target goal of drafting two first drafts every year.  I know that these are not finished works, but without something down on paper, there is nothing to correct.  Also, I have so many novels and a few nonfiction books patiently, or not-so-patiently, waiting in line to be composed that I must continue this pace.

people-304353__180

https://pixabay.com

Book One of this series is now the novel that I will begin to pitch to agents.  I think I have a much better chance of finding an agent for this piece than the horror novel.  I will work on both my query letter and a pitch to give at the Writers Digest 2016 conference in Manhattan this summer. As always, I am excited about going to this conference.

That is all for now…will do another update in one month or so!

 

 

40 thoughts on “March Writing Progress

  1. I don’t know how you write more than one book at a time. I have to focus on one, before moving on to the other. That isn’t saying I don’t get ideas for future books I have planned. I scribble those ideas down and file them. I’d like to do this -but it just seems to hard. I have to stay with the man I have someone falling in love with -just can’t love more than one at a time.
    fiddledeedeebooks.wordpress.com

    Liked by 3 people

  2. My first murder-mystery was initially published in the traditional way. Unfortunately, not six months after it was made available, it was announced that the publisher was going out of business. For over two years I struggled with what to do. People kept asking me if they could get a copy of the book or when the next one was coming out. It was unbelievably frustrating knowing I had readers out there, but no idea when I’d be able to give them what they wanted. Rejection after rejection finally made me throw up my hands and yell, “I surrender!” I went the self-publish route. It’s A LOT of work, but at least now I don’t have to shrug and say, “I have no idea.” I’ll have put out three novels over the course of a single year once this coming October rolls around.
    Best of luck with all your writing endeavors! I love to hear how fellow struggling authors out there make progress. It makes me feel not quite so alone.

    Liked by 4 people

    • I strongly believe in the self-publish way of getting your work out-into-the-world. I found it quite easy to find a formatter needed for .mobi (Amazon) kindle and PDF (Createspace) print version as well as a cover maker for kindle and for print version (front, spine, back). Createspace does a wonderful job (ISBN, Library of Congress recognization, distribution world wide), and its is almost free! (No, I don’t work for either company – but they did offer me a job – LOL!)

      Liked by 3 people

  3. This is a great update. How did you decide in your mind between an agent for the YA book and self publishing the horror novel? Do you think agents will be more interested in a hot topic (YA)? Your conference sounds very exciting! And, 9 or 10 edits? Sounds a bit depressing, unless the edits are words and phrases.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I have been trying for some time now to find an agent for the horror novel, but I think there is a perception that horror is not hot in fiction right now. I do not agree with that, but I suspect it influences decisions by agents. I also believe that the age of the main characters — around 68 — is also a potential issue. Since I have put so much work into this book, it is time for it to see the proverbial light of day. I am, therefore, going to commit to self-publishing, but I will plan carefully, including a marketing plan. I do think the YA has a better chance of finding an agent, but we will see. And the different number of edits–a piece of writing is never finished, only due, as I tell my students. I keep finding more either from my reading or the careful eyes of readers of work that can be done to it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

