How Art Shapes Our World

Standard

This is a very important post on the need for art in the education of children. I just read it today, and I want to share it.

A Teacher's Reflections

Growing up, I spent every Sunday afternoon with my grandmother, Nan.  She was the fun one, the grandparent who let us dress up in her clothes, always read to us, told us stories of her childhood, and drove us to the ‘five and dime’ to spend a nickle on anything we wanted.  She made real taffy, and we had taffy pulls until the taffy was glistening.  One of Nan’s favorite books was a picture book of Norman Rockwell illustrations.  I loved that book, and we often looked through it together, talking about the pictures.  Walking into Nan’s apartment hung a picture of ‘Girl Before a Mirror’ by Picasso.  As a child I thought this was strange.  Little did that I know how it would shape my thinking and teaching.  Nan had all sorts of pictures hanging in her apartment.  The one that struck me the most was ‘Leaving Home’ by…

View original post 450 more words

11 thoughts on “How Art Shapes Our World

  1. Oddly, for me it was watching Bambi (yes, IN the movie theater when it was NEW), up close to the screen, falling into all of that luxurious artwork of the forest…I came out of there resolved to be an artist… and now write Horror, go figure.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Definitely a good one. For me it was often the books I took down from shelves I wasn’t meant to visit, but wasn’t discouraged from either. I read T. E. Lawrence’s Seven Pillars of Wisdom for the first time when I was 10 — my grandma had it, and I’d already read a young reader’s biography of Lawrence. It changed my life.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. My son is an art teacher in elementary school. He credits me with his love of art. I am not an artist, but he said that his interest started when he was little and I would show him how to draw bunnies and cats–you know, the two circles, the bigger one for the body and the small one for the head. Then you add the whiskers, tail and feet. Very simple. But he claims that was what started him on the road to his career.

    I learned about stories from my grandmother. She told great stories. I would sit at her feet as she rocked in the rocking chair with a big tub of apples on her lap. She would peel the apples while she told me stories of her childhood, Grandpa’s grocery story and all the adventures of growing up in turn-of-the-century western Pennsylvania.

    Liked by 1 person

    • SUEBEE51. What a wonderful written depiction that actually creates in the mind’s eye a visual picture with vivid scenes of white bunnies, calico cats, bright red apples, Grandma’s rocking chair, and Grandpa’s grocery store, lives lived in a by-gone-era, a portrait never to be forgotten. Thank you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

