Writing Update

Standard

typewriterold

https://pixabay.com

It has been a while since I have posted my writing progress, so I want to give an update on what I have been doing. I posted a while ago that I want to write a first draft of a novel every six months or so, and I am on target with that goal. I hope that the first draft I am currently writing will be between 200-250 pages, and I currently have about 40 pages written.  At the pace I am going, I should have it complete in June.  This is book two in my YA series.

revision

https://pixabay.com

I am also very busy working on revisions of my horror novel Evil Lives After and the first book in the YA series. In both cases these revisions are minor. I believe both books are ready for submissions; I will see what kind of results I get.  In the case of the YA, I have been getting excellent feedback and reaction from readers. I have also received excellent advice on the horror novel, and I have cut some and rearranged chapter order, so I believe it moves along much faster and better than before.

books-690219_960_720

https://pixabay.com

On the academic writing front, I am working on revising an article on Gothic literature as well as conducing research for a book on an obscure Irish playwright, Seamus Byrne. I hope to send the article out again soon, and I will work on drafting a chapter of the book in the summer.

I will give an update every month or so on my progress.

 

 

 

 

17 thoughts on “Writing Update

  1. Well, you certainly have a busy schedule, Charles, because I’m aware that you also teach, which is very rewarding, but I also happen to know is time consuming and heavy on admin! Delighted to hear that your books are nearly ready to go – best of luck with the submission phase:)

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

