A Few Quotations on Reading

Standard

“No matter how busy you may think you are, you must find time for reading, or surrender yourself to self-chosen ignorance.”                                                       Confucius

 

confucius-1124608_960_720

https://pixabay.com

“Once you learn to read, you will be forever free.”
Frederick Douglass

 

WAR AND CONFLICT BOOKERA:  CIVIL WAR/BACKGROUND: SLAVERY & ABOLITIONISM

Frederick Douglass, ca. 1879. George K. Warren. (National Archives Gift Collection) Exact Date Shot Unknown NARA FILE #: 200-FL-22 WAR & CONFLICT BOOK #: 113

https://en.wikipedia.org

“There are many little ways to enlarge your child’s world. Love of books is the best of all.”
Jacqueline Kennedy

jacqueline-kennedy-402038_960_720

https://pixabay.com

Remember to keep reading!

19 thoughts on “A Few Quotations on Reading

  1. “A book must be the axe for the frozen sea within us.” Franz Kafka

    My youngest son turned his back on books for a number of years and but has matured quite a bit of late and has returned to the fold. He told me last night he is reading Jules Vern and enjoying it. Since I am not really in to that genre, perhaps you could suggest a few books I could send him?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve always believed that if you can read well, the whole world and beyond is at your fingertips. You can do anything. We didn’t have many books available when I was growing up but I craved them. The year I received books for Christmas was my best ever as a young person. I love these quotes. Any quote about reading gets my vote.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

