Take Time to Read

Standard

library-1021724_960_720

(pixabay.com)

“If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or the tools) to write. Simple as that.”

                                                                                  Stephen King

 

books-1082942__180

(pixabay.com)

“Read, read, read. Read everything — trash, classics, good and bad, and see how they do it. Just like a carpenter who works as an apprentice and studies the master. Read! You’ll absorb it.
Then write. If it’s good, you’ll find out. If it’s not, throw it out of the window.”

                                                                              William Faulkner

 

books2

(pixabay.com)

“We live for books.”   Umberto Eco

43 thoughts on “Take Time to Read

  1. I live for books too. Loved the images! Think I found a quote somewhere that says “every time someone watches a soap opera, a book commits suicide”. Thought it was funny. I do by e-books for when I can’t carry the hard copy but often have the hard copy on the shelf too. I like to support writers so they keep writing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Important! I’ve made daily reading, of fiction in particular, a requisite. I’ve found a lot of new loves, genres I didn’t realize I’d like. I just wish they’d invent an e-reader I could read in the bathtub. Keep writing, folks.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reading expands my horizons and skills as a writer and editor, but there’s something else too: if I’m affected by what I read, then others may be affected by what I write. I write for my own sake, but not only for my own sake. Readers complete the circle.

    I’m not sure a book dies whenever one watches a soap opera. 😉 Maybe it’s OK as long as one doesn’t define “soap opera” too broadly. I don’t have a TV, but lately my writing has been powerfully affected by several TV series, most of them written by the British screenwriter-director Sally Wainwright. Not soap operas, though Last Tango in Halifax might qualify. If “soap opera” refers to the sort of show you watch on auto-pilot, well, there are books out there that are read the same way. When I was told that some romance readers read seven books a week, my immediate reaction was “That’s not reading — that’s using.” As part of a mixed diet, romance novels and soap operas both are fine.

    For over a generation now, commercial publishers have been trying to treat novels like widgets. They’ve come up with niches, sub-niches, and sub-sub-niches to channel those widgets more reliably to readers. The commercial publishers are losing their grip, but all too many readers have been trained to stay in their sub-niche ruts — and fiction writers who aspire to making a living, or even part of a living, writing ignore those ruts at their peril. Readers who only follow endless series in their preferred sub-niche are right up there with soap opera addicts in my book (so to speak).

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Reblogged this on A Teacher's Reflections and commented:
    Reading is the essence of pleasure and learning. Thank you to Charles French for posting these important quotes. I would like to add one that Einstein said: “If you want your children to be intelligent, read them fairy tales. If you want them to be more intelligent, read them more fairy tales.” Yes, it is all about reading.

    Like

Leave a Reply

