Favorite Christmas Movies: Part 1

Standard

Scrooge1970Film

https://en.wikipedia.org

There are so many aspects of this holiday season that are wonderful to me: getting together with loved ones, friends and family alike; the spirit of giving that I hope continues to grow; celebrations; the holiday music; and the memories of happy times.  Among the favorite memories I have are a few specific Christmas movies.

The movie I will talk about today is Scrooge with Albert Finney as the star; he does a magnificent job in his performance as the miserly and misanthropic loan-shark. This musical version of A Christmas Carol is one of the finest filmic adaptations of the classic Christmas Eve ghost story and morality tale.  This film follows  the story closely with Scrooge being visited by the ghosts of Christmas Past, of Christmas Present, and of Christmas Future. Among the movies best songs are Scrooge singing “I Hate People” which clearly shows his despicable and greedy nature,  “Thank You Very Much” in which a tap dance is done on Scrooge’s coffin in the future, and “I Like Life” in which the ghost of Christmas Present teaches Scrooge about experiencing life as well as having empathy for others.

Scrooge-Ghostof xmaspresent-m

https://christmascarolindoha.wikispaces.com

This movie does an excellent job of showing Dickens’ critique of a greed based society and one that did little or nothing to help alleviate the enormous difficulties of the poor.  When first confronted by the ghost of his dead partner Marley, Scrooge tells him that he was always a good man of business.  Marley’s ghost responds, “Mankind should be our business.”  This is a sentiment that stands today.  We should be putting the good of humanity above the pursuit of greed.

A_Christmas_Carol,_Ignorance_and_Want_by_John_Leech

https://commons.wikimedia.org

I was a teenager when this movie was first released in 1970, and I loved seeing it with two of my closest friends.  We were captivated by the music and the story, and it remains as powerful to me as when I first saw it. If you have never had the opportunity to see this particular film, I give it my highest recommendation.

ghostofxmasfuture

https://commons.wikimedia.org/

I also remind all of us, in paraphrasing the Master Charles Dickens, that we must always remember to make the good of others our business.

 

46 thoughts on “Favorite Christmas Movies: Part 1

      • It’s a tie actually between the Muppets version and the recent attempt made by Disney, starring Jim Carrey. The Muppets mainly due to the incredible job that Michael Cain does at bringing the character of Scrooge off the page and onto the screen; the Disney version for its remarkable accuracy and adherence to the Dickens words.

        Liked by 1 person

      • It’s a tie actually between the Muppet version and the recent Disney version, starring Jim Carrey. In the Muppet version, Michael Cain does a fantastic job playing the miser Scrooge, but the Disney version follows the story, often word for word, giving new life to the tale without deviating from the true intent of Dickens.

        Liked by 2 people

  1. Just finished watching the version with Patrick Stewart. A Christmas Carol remains one of my favorite Christmas films. I don’t think I’ve seen the Finney version since I was a kid. Your post has me wanting to look it up on Amazon. Merry Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love Christmas films, both classics and contemporary movies. I’ve seen different adaptations of the The Christmas Carol story. One of my all-time favorites is The Drummer Boy, which is also my favorite Christmas music too, probably why I like the movie because of the song. Pah rum pa pum pum . . . .

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A great story i watched as a kid i remember the door knocker to scrooges house was a lion it moved in a scary way, and the ghost, i didnt sleep all night, its been on tv many times since but never had the same sort of effect as then.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like this version as well, but my favorites are the Muppet version (which remained surprisingly true to the original story, down to lines from Dickens being quoted), and Scrooged, with Bill Murray. I watch those two every year. 🙂

    Like

  5. Worried I’d missed an important film classic, I checked IMBD and then realized I boycotted televsion from around 1970-1978. I still like watching the 1938 classic, The Muppet version and the Scrooged, but the original book is far better 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Finney was a major star in the 60’s and 70’s, but is rather unfamiliar to post-boomers. I had the pleasure of working with him in London back in the late 70’s. Despite his fame (especially in England), he’s a humble, hard-working actor. Merry Christmas, Charles!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love this version the best! It is outstanding in every respect. First rate production values, music, and performances. With so many versions of the story everyone will have their favorite. The Sims version always gathers praise, and it should. But, this version, in my mind, is joyfully entertaining. Another version that stands the test of time is the 1984 George C. Scott made for television film. Scott’s Scrooge is remarkable, as is Sir Michael Caine’s in the Muppet Christmas Carol. Thank you Charles, and Merry Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I haven’t seen the film. But I love the story and I listen to it in Swedish in a recording where one of our actors read the story. It’s great and bring out the good Christmas spirit every time 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. The moment I read the title of your post, “Mickey’s Christmas Carol” immediately came to mind as my favorite, so I’m glad “A Christmas Carol” is the topic movie. Yes, the Albert Finney version is excellent. When my children were little we watched the Disney version dozens of times. Our neighbors had the videotape, and even in the summer months we would borrow it and watch the movie for another dozen times. And, last week we watched it with our grandchildren. Oh, my bad-mother-moment was watching the original “A Christmas Carol” together with our children. Hey, they adored the Disney version, right? Well, the 1938 B&W original is terrifying for children! I also like the modern remake with Bill Murray.

    Like

Leave a Reply

