Classroom Trials!

Standard

law-1063249_960_720

https://pixabay.com

I frequently end some of my college classes with courtroom trials, and this semester I was able to incorporate this activity into both a traditional day and an evening non-traditional First Year Writing class.  In both classes, held at different schools–Lehigh University and the Wescoe School of Muhlenberg College, the students conducted criminal trials of characters from Frankenstein by Mary Shelley.

220px-Frankenstein.1831.inside-cover

https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Horror-literatur

From having my students perform this exercise over many years of teaching, I have found that it gives the students a dynamic path into understanding the text. By having them produce, what I name a living paper, they gain a very deep comprehension of many aspects of the book; among them are theme, motif, character development, and social critique.

I serve as the judge, while students are prosecutors, defense, characters, and, in the traditional class, jurors.  Because the class size is smaller in the non-traditional class, I had various people from the Wescoe School act as jurors.  To the guest jurors–thank you! You did an excellent job in judging the charges.

frankenstein-394281_640

https://pixabay.com

The traditional class was conducting their trial against the Creature, while the non-traditional class was trying Victor Frankenstein.

Frankenstein_Alternate_Book_Cover

http://eng10frankenwiki.wikispaces.com/franken+pics

Both classes performed lively and informed events.  In both, the prosecutors presented a list of potential criminal charges, and the defense challenged them.  I made the final decision and eliminated some so that we would have a manageable number of charges to handle in a short time. These are not law classes, so the jury judged on who did the better job of making and supporting arguments not on issues of jurisprudence.  I was deeply impressed with both classes and the effort they invested in their respective projects. They did excellent work, and they all seemed to enjoy the project. I am convinced that adding a creative component to a class almost always adds to students’ comprehension of the material being learned.

In both classes, the decisions on the charges were split.  Both defendants were found guilty on some charges and not guilty on others.  I find it interesting that in all the years I have done similar trials, there has never been one with a unanimous sweep either for the prosecution or the defense.  While the verdicts were split, my opinion on my students’ work is definitive–they did an excellent job!

analysis-1010888_960_720

https://pixabay.com

 

58 thoughts on “Classroom Trials!

  1. Great minds think alike!!! I don’t do a full scale courtroom like you do (such a fun, brilliant idea though!), I just have my students write closing statements for a case of their choosing (basically they decide to defend or condemn Frankenstein or the creature). The students LOVED it, and I enjoyed grading them…Enjoy your holiday break (once grades are in and you’re prepped for next semester 😉 ).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What an excellent exercise. When my mother was at drama school (RADA) in the late 40s, attending court cases was part of the training and provided fascinating insight into human behaviour. I was very disappointed when I was at drama school (not RADA!) that this wasn’t part of the course.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Fascinating! I wonder if a story like Frankenstein were true, how would one find the monster guilty when he was created from parts of dead people? Poor guy had no running chance and being 8 feet tall, no way could he blend in with the crowd, anyway!

    I enjoyed your post and admire your method of teaching.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This sounds like an excellent aid to the students’ learning and understanding of the various aspects of the book. I can imagine they all had a lot of fun performing the coutroom trials and will remember the activity for a long time. Well done to you as tutor and co-ordinator!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a great approach! You *almost* make me wish I were back in the classroom! I taught English and creative writing to high school students, and over the years I found that any time I could make the students “take charge” of the text in a creative way, they were so much more engaged. It gave them the responsibility for learning rather than their being spoon fed!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

