Siblinghood of the World Bloggers Award

Standard

siblinghood-of-the-world-bloggers

Thank you to Laura https://todaysdose.wordpress.com/ for nominating me for the Siblinghood of the World Bloggers Award! I am honored to be given this nomination by a blogger who is creative, kind, and whose blog deals with many important and interesting family issues and concerns. Again, thank you!

The Rules:

1.) Thank the blogger who nominated you and link to their blog in your post.

2.) Answer the questions that the blogger who nominated you has provided.

3.) Nominate ten other bloggers (or up to 10).

4.) Create ten questions for your nominees, and notify them of their nominations.

My answers:

When did you begin writing for enjoyment?

This is a difficult question because I have been writing in various capacities most of my life, but I committed to being a novelist about 4 years ago, maybe 5, and I love writing fiction.

Who is your favorite philosopher and why?

My favorite philosopher is Socrates, because he believed that questioning everything is the basis of wisdom. I have tried to live my life in the pursuit of knowledge through questioning, and I believe it is crucial for any society to have many people who question the status quos of that society in order to grow and be healthy.

Why do you write?

I write fiction because I have many stories to tell.  I have to keep the newest novels lined up and waiting their turns to be drafted.  I love telling stories, hearing stories, and reading stories. I think it is the one essential art form.

What is hardest part about the writing process for you?

I understand the importance of revision; I am currently working on the 8th draft of my horror novel Evil Lives After, but revision is the hard work of writing.  Drafting the first draft is fun and exciting; revision, which is crucial, is difficult and often tedious.

Do you find you’re bummed out when you finish a good book?

Yes! When I read The Lord of the Rings for the first time, even though it is very long, I wanted it to keep going, because I loved the world of this book and its characters.  Tolkien had me completely drawn in, and I don’t think that I have ever left Middle Earth completely.

My Nominees

*Kate Colby http://katemcolby.com/

Kate is an excellent writer and blogger.  Please check out her site and her new novel: The Cogsmith’s Daughter

*A Not So Jaded Life https://anotsojadedlife.wordpress.com This is a wonderful blog with moving and useful quotations and discussions of writing.

*Prof Mitch https://mitchgoldfarbblog.wordpress.com/

Mitch has an inspirational blog with powerful quotations and questions.

*Never Less Than Everything http://neverlessthan.com/

Tricia and Richard write an impressive blog about autism, autistic rights, and life.

*Zombie Salmon https://zombiesalmonthehorrorcontinues.wordpress.com/

K.C. Redding-Gonzalez has an erudite blog about issues of the writing of horror fiction.

*Bold Blind Beauty http://boldblindbeauty.com/ Stephanae V. McCoy writes an inspiration blog about facing the challenges of life.

*G.P. Cox https://pacificparatrooper.wordpress.com Mr. Cox has an excellent post on the history of the military during the Pacific War.

*Michelle Saul https://mythoughtsonwritingandreading.wordpress.com/

Michelle is a strong writer, and her blog deals with many aspects of writing and reading.

*Tadhg https://askateenageaspie.wordpress.com  This is a wonderful blog by a teenager who is honest and open about being a teenage Aspie.

*Cindy Knoke http://cindyknoke.com/ Cindy’s blog features stunning photography and commentary.

My questions:

1.) What is your favorite book and why?

2.) Do you prefer ebooks or physical books?

3.) What do you enjoy most about blogging?

4.) What is your favorite season of the year?

5.) What is your favorite holiday?

6.) Do you have a favorite quotation about writing or life?

7.) Do you like have pets? If so, what kind?

8.) What is the last book you read?

9.) What are your writing or artistic goals?

10.) What is a perfect day for you?

28 thoughts on “Siblinghood of the World Bloggers Award

  1. Thanks for the nomination, Charles! As I said in my email, I’ve already received this one, but I wanted to go ahead and answer your questions.

    1.) What is your favorite book and why?

    Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov. The writing is painstakingly crafted and just plain gorgeous.

    2.) Do you prefer ebooks or physical books?

    I prefer physical for fiction, because I like the connection to the story from holding a physical copy. But, I prefer ebook for nonfiction, so I can highlight and make notes without scarring my copy.

    3.) What do you enjoy most about blogging?

    Connecting with other writers and the sense of community.

    4.) What is your favorite season of the year?

    Autumn. Beautiful weather, trees, and fashion.

    5.) What is your favorite holiday?

    Christmas.

    6.) Do you have a favorite quotation about writing or life?

    “Talent can only take you so far. It’s your point of view on the world that makes a difference.” – Gerard Way

    7.) Do you like have pets? If so, what kind?

    I only have one cat living with me. But at my family home, we have three dogs, two cats, two horses, a goat, a turkey, a flock of chickens, a turtle, three lizards, frogs, and fish.

    8.) What is the last book you read?

    1001 Islands by KT Munson

    9.) What are your writing or artistic goals?

    To make a living as a full-time author entrepreneur.

    10.) What is a perfect day for you?

    A combination of writing, reading, snuggling with my cat, and spending quality time outdoors with my husband.

    Thanks again for the nomination!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I appreciate the honor, sincerely I do. But being as the site has nothing to do with me or my life, but dedicated to the veterans who did ALL the work, I respectfully decline. I truly hope this will not interfere in our current friendship.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations to you Charles on this award, it’s so well deserved. Thank you also for nominating me, and the introduction to other bloggers. What an honor to be categorized with these other fabulous bloggers. Though I would love nothing better than to participate in this process, unfortunately due to tight time constraints I cannot at this time but I wanted you to know how very much I appreciate your thoughtfulness. ~Steph

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

