Favorite Horror Movies: 1920s

Standard

I have been a fan of horror movies since I was a child. I grew up watching Universal movies from the 1930s and 1940s being shown on various themed TV shows with horror hosts. As an adult, my love for these films has not waned; in fact, it has grown and helped to feed my scholarly interest in film. I use these films in some of the classes I teach in college.

For this series, I will try to limit my choices of film to 2-4 representative examples.  Two films, in particular, stand out to me from the 1920s.  They both starred Lon Chaney Sr., the Man of a Thousand Faces, and were made by Universal Studios.

Hunchback_of_Notre_Dame

(https://en.wikipedia.org)

The first film is The Hunchback of Notre Dame, (1923) based on the Victor Hugo novel, and it is an extraordinary piece of cinema that stands up today. It was a very expensive production at the time.  Estimates range in the $1,250,000 to $1,500,000 range.  Given the year, that is a huge sum of money. The movie accurately reflects Hugo’s examination of the capacity of human beings to be intensely cruel to each other and of the abuse of power by those in positions of authority.  Wallace Worsley directed the film, and Lon Chaney Sr. gave a magnificent performance as Quasimodo.  It is also important to remember that Mr. Chaney created all of his own makeups.  If all you know of this story is the Disney version, you need to see this production.  I would consider it one of the best and most important films ever made.

phantomoftheopera

(https://en.wikipedia.org)

The Phantom of the Opera (1925) starring Lon Chaney Sr. is based on Gaston Leroux’s novel and was a huge success. Chaney played the deformed writer who falls in love with a singer and who becomes her kidnapper. This tale of horror and love has been redone numerous times, including the well known stage musical, but none of those productions have reached the sterling height of this extraordinary film.  As with the Hunchback, Chaney created this makeup, and his performance is sublime.  Again, if you have not seen this film,  I recommend it highly.

thumbup

https://pixabay.com

27 thoughts on “Favorite Horror Movies: 1920s

  1. You have brought up an interesting memory. I thought I never watched horror movies but I did watch one of those and loved the Alfred Hitchcock series. I think I may have had more tolerance for fright when I was younger. I have not had the opportunity to see Phantom yet but I’m sure it will present itself. I do believe I saw the Hunchback. Memory being what it is, well, I might try a second look at it. 🙂 Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There’s just something about Horror in black and white and the awesome use of lighting… we have lost so much artistry since the titles you mentioned were made. Have you checked out Vampyr? A 1932 Danish film… totally amazing work in the genre. Criterion carries it…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Chaney versions of both are still the best, even after a century. Chaney was a great actor, one of the silent actors who would have made the transition into sound if he’d lived. And the make-up is definitive. Worth seeking out Drake Douglas’s book “Horrors”, a good read about the early horror era, John B,

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

