Once More Unto the Breach, Dear Friends, Once More!

Standard

henryv

http://www.movieclips.com/

Or should I say at least once more? (with thanks to William Shakespeare Henry V 3.1.1.)

moon-330068_640

I have not posted for a while about the progress of my horror novel Evil Lives After, and I thought I should give a report on what was happening with it. I am receiving excellent editing and feedback on my previous draft, which I deeply appreciate.  After having spent several months in primarily working on a first draft on another novel and on revisions of my second novel, I realized I needed to get back to Evil Lives After.  I am, therefore, now actively, cutting, adding, and revising to create the 8th draft.  I think this will be a much tighter, more compelling, and more frightening book than before.

ghost-town-551136_640

https://pixabay.com

I suspect that completing the revisions of this draft will need a three to four month time frame.  I am sure that the book will be greatly improved after this process.  I will keep you updated on the progress.  For now, to revising I go!

typewriter-159878_640

https://pixabay.com/

14 thoughts on “Once More Unto the Breach, Dear Friends, Once More!

  1. I fully sympathize. I’m in a similar process now. It’s a funny feeling when it dawns on me that the other-worldly, just-don’t-get-it observations of my second readers and editors are in fact on target.

    That’s when I swallow my humble pie and get to work.

    Like

  2. This editing business seems neverending, doesn’t it? But thank goodness for our beta readers, who can spot issues we simply cannot see. Best of luck with the next trudge through editland!

    Like

  3. I find what makes revision tougher is the sense that for the first time in the process you “feel” completely alone. Creation is like being in a chorus of voices…revision is more like “well, YOU wrote it, dummy. What were you TRYING to say?” And it is then that you realize…. the options ARE endless! Scary thought…

    Best of luck!

    Like

  4. I don’t envy you the process but know it’s necessary for a good outcome. Have never been able to read or watch horror stories. My kids laugh at me but even some Disney stories are too stressful. I know I’m missing out on some of the fun but just can’t do it. Best wishes for your book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

