Going to a Conference!

Standard

New-York-City-Skyline-Wallpapers

New York City Skyline Wallpapers

I am going to the Writers Digest Conference in New York City this weekend, and I am very excited about it. This is one of the largest writers’ conferences in North America, and it will be the second time I have attended.

writing-clip-art-Writing2

http://www.clipartpanda.com

When I went last year, I had no real idea of what to expect. Of course, I had done research, but a writers’ conference, especially one this large, is significantly different from academic conferences I had attended.

meeting

http://www.murkworks.net/

This year I will be there with my pitch for my horror novel Evil Lives After prepared, and with specific expectations of what I will try to gain and learn. One specific quality of this event that I realized last year is that every session is valuable. I intend to gather as much information as possible about writing and publishing as I can.

elevator-pitch1

Home

The main focus for me, as I am sure it will be with many other writers, is the agent pitch slam, a kind of speed dating or elevator pitch session with agents, in which each writer has a 3 minute time span to greet the agent, pitch the novel, and answer questions. I have done my research and planning and know which agents I will try to pitch first. I will let you know how that turns out.

Staten-Island-Ferry--New-York-City_web

I have to mention that I am staying with my wonderful and gracious in-laws, whom I love as my own parents. A big thank you to them!  They have a house on Staten Island, and I will make the commute on the ferry—and I love riding the ferry!—and then take the subway to Grand Central Terminal, which is only a couple of blocks from my destination.

GrandCentralterminalexterior

pinterest.com

36 thoughts on “Going to a Conference!

  1. How exciting! My sister is going to L.A. this weekend for a week to meet with many screenwriters and producers. And a screenwriters conference also, I believe. Jealous (in a good way) of you both! You’ll have to post how things go.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hope you have a really great conference. My word – the agent pitching session sounds terrifying! I’m wishing you all the best and look forward to hearing about it in due course.

    Like

Leave a Reply

