Drafts, Revisions, and Plans, Oh MY!

Standard

draft

I finished the first draft of a novel I have been working on the first part of the year. While it is very rough and in need of a great deal of work, it is time to put it aside for a while. I am not sure what my overall goals for this novel are, but at least I have completed the initial draft. So, I need to continue with the overall writing plan I put in place a while ago, one which I was not sure I would be able to maintain. So far, I have done it.

johnny_automatic_typewriter.svg.hi

This writing plan is to draft, as first drafts, two books per year. In addition to the drafting, I am also constantly working on revising previous books. I focus on one at a time, or at least I try to. My writing time is divided into drafting first, and then I work on revising. I have found that I am able to do this about 5 days a week.

workschedule

I had mentioned in an earlier post that I am also working on an academic book, but that is moving very slowly as I try to find necessary materials without which , it cannot move forward.  My drafting goal for the rest of the year, therefore, is to complete a first draft of a horror novel. It is a story I have had in mind for quite a while. In fact, the idea for it came from a dream I had, in which, in very cinematic fashion, I saw the entire ending of the story. It was like seeing a movie for free!

in-our-dreams-dreams-1600x1200

My long range goal for this horror novel is to test the self-publishing waters with it. I still intend to try to be published traditionally, especially with my first two novels, but I decided it was time to spread out this writing venture and see what happens. That long range plan for the book will be to self-publish it sometime next year.

Let’s see how the carrying-out of my plan goes.

for+the+future

36 thoughts on “Drafts, Revisions, and Plans, Oh MY!

  1. Reading this was really helpful and inspiring! It also makes me realize I need to start putting my plans into motion and motivate myself more instead of hoping moments of inspiration will be enough! Great post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good job! I’m in awe at all the planning you are and to do. I used to write, or attempt to write novels. I have so many partially written novels that I either ran out of momentum on or got busy with something else. I hope you are able to meet your goals, but it sounds as though you will. If I may ask, what kind of academic book are you planning?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your kind words! Ye, you may certainly ask–the academic book is a study of an extremely obscure Irish playwright from the mid-part of the 20th Century. Have you given any thought to returning to your novels?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh wow! That sounds very fascinating! Yes, I do hope to one day finish at least a few. I’m just without much spare time these days. I do pretty much everything from my phone because it’s quick and convenient. Perhaps in a few years, when babies are a bit bigger, I’ll be able to dedicate more time to writing.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations on completing the first draft – it’s always a huge step along the way. Best of luck in rolling forward with your target. I find I cannot split my time effectively – when revising and editing, I simply cannot write something else alongside as I need all my focus on the world I’m editing in order to make some of the connections, character revelations and extra touches necessary to improve the m/s. But then, I’m the ultimate monotasker…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have just handed over my latest book to be polished… if it is any consolation the first draft was 1988.. the draft has been modified at various stages since then but here we are 27 years later!! Thanks for following the blog Charles and look forward to seeing more of you on the blog as a guest at some point. best wishes Sally

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

