What Book Would You Read?

Standard

book-clouds-873442_960_720

(https://pixabay.com)

One of my best memories from summers when I was a child was of those days when I didn’t have to do anything. Work had not yet reared its head, chores were finished, and the weather was just right. It wasn’t too hot, and the humidity was low. The sky was filled with imagination-inducing legions of clouds.  On such days, I remember sitting under a tree, leaning back against it and reading a book—all day, with the exception of going in for lunch and supper. They were perfect days.

clouds-1460001_960_720

(https://pixabay.com)

Now, imagine something like that. For one day, you have no responsibilities, the weather is nice—75 degrees, almost no humidity, and a sky of bright blue and cumulus clouds like scattered cotton candy—and you have the time to indulge in reading a book. At your side is a container of coffee, iced tea, or whatever you like. You also have snacks with you.  Remember, for this day, you are free to relax and read, as if you were a child again.

If I were to do this right now, I think I would begin to reread The Lord of the Rings.

First_Single_Volume_Edition_of_The_Lord_of_the_Rings

(https://en.wikipedia.org)

My question is—what book would you read?

90 thoughts on “What Book Would You Read?

  1. The idea of a nice quiet spot and a great book helps immensely. Sadly, it isn’t in the cards. This was a wonderful post. I carried a copy of the Two Towers in my backpack from 5th grade until college. They are stories you can pick up any where at any time and just get lost in.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Charles, I think that if I could find the time to sit in the kind of setting you suggested, (there are many here in the city of Auburn, in the Sierra Nevada foothills), I would probably like to spend an afternoon reading comedian Colin Mochrie’s book “Not Quite the Classics” which I have heard is quiet good. He apparently takes the first and last line from some classic books, and then fills in the middle with his silly take on the titles. Articulately silly renderings of the classics sounds like a wonderful way to spend a Saturday afternoon, don’t you think? :O)

    Liked by 2 people

  3. There are a lot of books waiting on my shelf. Not too many novels I have Fall from Grace by Susan Kraus next in line. I have not read any of her books before but they sounded interesting. I like anything by Andy Andrews. I’m a reader of books with a spiritual (not religious ) bent. Makes me an odd duck. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I loved True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle. Now I have so many books I want to read and have no time to do so, it’s hard to pick one. But I think top on my list is Boys Adrift.

    Like

  5. Your dream/memory is my reality this week as I head to the beach with the family 🙂 …I will be reading The Joy Luck Club and finishing my spy novel (with my toes in the sand and coffee by my side)…I hope to get some writing too!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. LOTR is a great one, and I just recently read Neil’s “Ocean at the End of the Lane”, “Fortunately the Milk” and “The Anansi Boys”. I love days when I can just read nonstop. I think I went through the whole Harry Potter series in about a month. I recently reread “The Queen of the Damned” because I had never seen the movie and wanted to see it. I’m sorry I saw it. 😖💀 But I think I would reread “The Witching Hour” and the other Mayfair Witch chronicles. Or “The Odyssey”. I really remember enjoying that one. It would be a shorter read, but still really enjoyable. 😄📚

    Like

  7. What a wonderful idea. I used to do that whEn the SO still had time to go fishing. While he was busy with the fish that wouldn’t bite, I’d sit, enjoy the summer evenings, and read, read, read… and I would join you with the LOTR reread, it never disappoints.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. At the moment I’m reading Dorothy West’s The Wedding. It’s messing up my life because I can’t put it down, but I have to. Why it did take me so long to get to it? If I could sit under a tree for the rest of the day, I think I’d reread Ursula Le Guin’s Always Coming Home. If I could sit under a tree for a month, I’d reread Katharine Kerr’s Deverry novels. All of ’em.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Yep, LotR would be on my list, along with Mark Twain, Jules Verne, H.G. Well, Richard Matheson (Shrinking Man, I Am Legend), Dumas, Jack London…all my boyhood writer-heroes! And to keep it timely, To Kill a Mocking Bird, one of my favorite books as a teenager.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. That is such a difficult question to answer. There are so many books that I have not read and feel I ought to. So many others I read when I was young and would like to read again. Of the more recent books that I have read, I think “Being Both”, is one I’d like to immerse myself in on a day like the one you describe. Thanks for following my blog. I am glad you enjoyed reading “Cake Walk”.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Sherlock Holmes stories. Holmes and Watson have been good friends of mine since I was about 10 or 11, and there is nothing more enjoyable than to renew their acquaintance, and seat myself comfortably with the two of them in the parlour of 221b Baker Street, waiting for a client to emerge from the thick London fog outside,,,

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Gosh, what a difficult choice, but if I am sitting under an apple tree near the edge of a forest preserve, near a field of alfalfa, a good choice would be my much loved “White Fang” by Jack London or “The Good Earth” by Pearl S. Buck or the fascinating “1491 New Revelations of the Americas Before Columbus”. Under those conditions , it would be, “White Fang”. Wolves, incredible creatures that they are, are very wise and thoughtful, so much so, that Genghis Khan subdued and conquered China, in part, by studying Wolf behavior.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I’d probably re-read The Elric series or Chronicles of Corum. If not that then, maybe Anne McCaffrey’s Crystal Singer or even something by Virginia Woolf. Or Thackery’s Vanity Fair. Or Lord of the Rings. 🙂 So many good choices!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

