An Epiphany!

Standard

epiphany

Solutions to problems that I have been considering sometimes come to me at the oddest of moments. I have found answers to questions about writing or teaching while in the shower, in the bathroom, or just after waking up. I am sure this experience is not unique to me, and I suspect the subconscious mind working on a difficulty and then presenting the answer when it is ready might be the explanation for this phenomenon. What would Dr. Freud have to say about this?

Sigmund_Freud_LIFE

Recently while on a gallivant with my wife, a drive we take for relaxation with no particular place in mind and hoping to find back roads we haven’t yet explored, a solution to my second novel burst into my consciousness.

countryroad

I had written two previous drafts of this book, a Young Adult speculative novel, set extremely far in the future, but I felt unsatisfied with its structure. I have had several people read it and make extremely useful comments on the book. One asked me if there would be a sequel, and I realized that I was thinking in those terms. But I was still not certain about this one. What was it? A single novel? Two books?

questions-resized-600.jpg

The answer came to me as we were cresting a hill in the beautiful back area of northeastern Pennsylvania. I said to my wife that I needed to tell her this solution so I didn’t lose it. This was one of the few times I went out without pad and pen, something I almost always have with me. She graciously listened, and I explained what burst into my mind.

earlistening

I now know the structure: it is a trilogy, and I know where the divisions are for each book. I now understand the arc of the entire trilogy, as well as the narrative arc of each text. I also know the antagonists of each piece as well as the overarching antagonist of the trilogy. As I talked it out, the answers solidified in my mind.

threebooks

So I am now working on the draft of the first book of the trilogy. I hope to have this done by the end of May or early June. We will see.

writingontypewriter

25 thoughts on “An Epiphany!

  1. I love the way my muse works too, but there are times when she catches me unawares. No matter how many notepads there are around my house, messages will come when I least expect it. You wouldn’t believe where I have had to scribbles things! But maybe you would…

    Like

  2. Step 1: Don’t consult Freud. Step 2: Always consult wife.
    Getting bonked in the brain by an idea is awesome! I’m glad you got the chance to get it all out and worked out. In the middle of conversations, I always get sidetracked and have to flee to the nearest writing utensil if an idea strikes.
    I’m glad inspiration jumped out at you! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

