A Goal Reached

Standard

fireworks

I wanted to finish a first draft of my third novel by the end of this month, and I have done that.  I am not impressed by the draft, because it needs a mountain of work.  I see numerous serious narrative issues that I will need to address in future drafts.  In fact, I am not sure if I will continue with this one–I have to let it percolate for a while before I decide what to do with it.

percolator

This completion of the first draft does lead me directly to my next immediate writing goals.   I intend to attack the completion of the third draft of my second book, a Young Adult novel over the next couple of months.  I want to have a third version complete by the end of May, which is optimistic, or June at the very latest, which might be more realistic.  If the third rewrite moves well, I will then aim for formal editing, and perhaps, just maybe, begin submitting it.

writingontypewriter

As the semester grows to a close,  I will soon be able to finish my grading work and devote more time to the work on this revision.  I hope I am able to complete this goal.

32 thoughts on “A Goal Reached

  1. Ula

    Congratulations. Getting a first draft down is always an accomplishment. They’re always shitty. I’m a big believer in percolating.

    Like

  2. You are an excellent writer. I am happy you have a break in your teaching to continue your writing. You have worked hard for a long time. I am very proud of your writings. Best regards, Barbara pursner

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations Charles! It has to be a tremendous amount of work, and although you may not be impressed with the draft, at least it is complete. I’m sure after you’ve taken that well-deserved breather you’ll whip it into shape. :O)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s the writers who finish a first draft and think their work’s done that I worry about. If you know there are issues to address, you’re ahead of 98% of the writers out there.

    And yes, it’s true, 94.6% of all statistics are made up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

