A Little About Helen Murray

Standard

back-to-school-913072_960_720

(https://pixabay.com)

I have been giving tidbits of backstory about the three retired gentlemen who are the focus of my horror novel Maledicus: Investigative Paranormal Society Book I. In the next few posts about characters in the novel, I will write a little about a few of the secondary, but important characters, of the book.

Helen Murray was a high school history teacher, the kind of teacher who caught her students’ attention and engaged them in the lessons. She understood that for many teenagers, history began the day there were born, and that it required a great effort to engage her charges’ minds.

history-998337_960_720

(https://pixabay.com)

She would often wear clothing or costumes of the time period when teaching about the Civil War or the Victorian era for example. Many of her fellow teachers looked at her as an eccentric, but she didn’t care, because her pupils had learned to be interested in history. Reaching her students, and instilling in them an interest in history was far more important to her than what others thought about her.

Her life had been an ordered one, but that changed with a series of terrible incidents, including the deaths of her sister and brother-in-law. As a result of a terrible car crash, Helen became the guardian of her very young niece, Helena, who was named for her.

I don’t want to reveal too much about the plot of the book, but I will say that Helen showed herself to have the heart of a tiger and to be a warrior.

amazon-1300350_960_720

(https://pixabay.com)

17 thoughts on “A Little About Helen Murray

    • Thank you for the comment! I am very happy that you want to know what will happen with her. I will add more about other characters and her in the future. And, I hope, when the book is published (Notice, I didn’t say if? That is positive thinking.), you will be able to read the entirety of the story.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I know the feeling . . . I have those moments, too (or are they days, weeks?)
        It doesn’t have to be an ‘if’. If the story has gripped you, it will grip somebody else. Perhaps this is a good opportunity for all your followers to discuss why they doubt their own work. Because we all do!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hello, and again, thank you for the comment. I know that all writers, or at least most, probably do doubt their work, but that is why it is important to stay focused on the work itself. We need to maintain discipline and continue to draft and revise. But I certainly would welcome thoughts on this from everyone who reads this.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Khaya Ronkainen

    How fascinating Helena sounds! She reminds me of my eccentric high school English teacher, who made me fall in love with George Orwell’s Animal Farm.
    And now your book sounds like the kind of horror I might enjoy. I just confessed that there is some kind of horror that scares me. :-). I think this is brilliant; to give a glimpse of your characters.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

