The Importance of the Liberal Arts

Standard

As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, I have a piece published in the “Education Guide” of the Sunday, 2/15/15, edition of The Morning Call, the largest newspaper in the Lehigh Valley, PA.
I am very proud of have the article in the paper, because I am very proud to be part of the Wescoe School of Muhlenberg College in Allentown, PA.

The Wescoe School is the name of the adult college program for Muhlenberg College. In this school, adults are able to gain full Bachelor degrees in a variety of majors and programs as well as certificate of study if they are focused on one specific area. I have been teaching college English courses for many years, and I have been an adjunct instructor at many colleges, but I am deeply impressed with the quality of education and the care for the adult students that are demonstrated in this program.

I was honored to be asked to write this piece, and I hope that I delivered a clear and sound explanation of the Liberal Arts, both in terms of history and application. I am an unrepentant Humanist; I still believe in the power of education to help people and in the ability of writing and words to help bridge gaps among people. Even at my age, I remain an idealist. Especially in the Wescoe program, I see education having a positive impact on students, many of whom have never attended college, might be starting their higher education in their 40s or 50s, and many of whom have full-time jobs and families. Their ability to learn and achieve never fails to humble me and to reinforce my belief in the strength of the Liberal Arts.

9 thoughts on “The Importance of the Liberal Arts

  1. I love hearing about programs like this. I too believe in “the ability of writing and words to help bridge gaps among people,” and in the importance of encouraging those whose voices are rarely heard to speak out (and write!). Which means giving them the tools to do it well and the hope that they can reach the audience that desperately needs to hear them. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for you comment. I agree with you, and as someone who was a returning adult student in college, I deeply appreciate that these programs do exist and serve a very quickly growing adult community of college students.

      Like

Leave a Reply

