The Pleasure of Reading

Standard

book-clouds-873442_960_720

(https://pixabay.com)

I have spent the majority of my time on this blog writing about writing, so I thought I would address the most fundamental and most important part of this experience with books: reading.

I have been reading my entire life; in fact, I cannot remember a time when I did not read. And reading has informed my life in many ways, not only in terms of career but also in the joys of life itself.

I read books, I teach them, and I write about them, but mostly, I enjoy them. I remember my mother telling me when I was very little that you can go many places that you might not ever have a chance to visit, real and made up, if you read. And I have visited and continue to journey to real and fantastic lands.

narrative-794978__340

(https://pixabay.com)

I am not a reading snob. While I teach college English Literature, I read in a very wide range, from adventure and horror to drama and so-called high literature, although I am not so certain that this distinction is accurate. Both Shakespeare and Dickens were considered popular writers in their time. Hemingway straddled the mythical fence of literature and genre writing. Today, I happily read authors in a multitude of genres, including Stephen King and John Connolly, among many others. So, I read whatever I choose, in any area. And I get great pleasure from the reading.

I hope that all people can experience this pleasure. I realize not everyone will, but I can keep hoping they do.

book-1014197_960_720

(https://pixabay.com)

Happy Reading!

wp-1476386546701-maledicus

 

Please follow the following links to find my novel:

ebook

Print book

Thank you!

The book trailer:

Maledicus:Investigative Paranormal Society Book I

My radio interview:

interview

39 thoughts on “The Pleasure of Reading

  1. oh, how I can relate? I enjoy the same things, my hubby & fam, reading/writing & a great meal. What else is there really? I love this and completely agree. I don’t narrow myself into one genre, I read anything and everything. As a matter of fact, some genres categorize phases within my life. I love what your mother had told you about reading. I think I’ll pass that one onto my children, if you don’t mind?

    some of my posts about reading!! 🙂
    https://mamalisa4.wordpress.com/2015/01/18/a-temple-for-my-passion-to-worship-a-trip-to-the-book-store/

    https://mamalisa4.wordpress.com/2015/01/26/what-the-library-means-to-me-book-nerds-where-are-you/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love to read; I have bookcases, tables and shelves over flowing with them. My wife tolerates my love of books but I still on occasion catch her donating those she knows I have read. I especially love older books from the 20’s, 30’s and 40’s, I love the way people used to write and form sentences.

    I never ‘really’ graduated high school I took the GED so I could join the Military in my senior year; I was living on the streets at the time. But I’ve always wanted to go back to school to learn how to write but it seems life always gets in the way.

    Love your BLOG!… Bill

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Reading opens so many doors, to other worlds, to the imagination, to thoughts one could have never believed possible. I’m especially interested in books about reading, about books, about libraries – be they fiction or non-fiction. Of the former my favourites is Morley’s ‘The Haunted Bookshop’; of the latter Manguel’s ‘A Reader on Reading’. Have you read either of those? (Do you teach them?)

    Either way, have you any favourites in this direction that you could recommend? It would be most interesting to exchange opinions on these kinds of books. Nothing like a bit of meta-discussion: Readers discussing books that readers wrote about readers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your comment. No, I have not read these books yet, but I will put them on my list of books to read. Here is a recommendation for you: The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon. It is one of my favorite books, and I think you might enjoy it also.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks for the reply and the recommendation. The Shadow of the Wind (and The Angel’s Game) is a great book. I’d read it before I’d discovered my love of books about books… in some ways perhaps it started me off on this path 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I read, not as much as I used to, too many other things to fo, writing, blogging and more, but I read in bed every night. I am going to pinch you subject and write about my reading, if you do o mind.
    Evelyn

    Like

  5. Since I was a child I have escaped into the world of books. I never go anywhere without bringing a book/iPad with me. I learned early on that delays or mishaps were often far more manageable, if I could crack open a book and get lost in the story. I do have to be careful where and when I choose to escape. If I’m waiting for my sons to get off the bus, that is not a good time to read. I’m hardly attentive to the outside world as the words, scenes, and dialogue swirl and dance merrily in my head. Hours could go by and I hardly notice. I’d have to say that books have been and remain, my best friends. Great post.

    Like

  6. I’ve always been a big reader as well, and I love just about any type of book. It’s so important to writing to keep reading as often as you can. There’s so much to learn about writing from reading both good and bad books!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thank you so much for following and I’ve very much enjoyed reading this post. I’ll browse through and see what other little gems you have. I’m in full agreement about reading. Books come first, food if I still have money. I’m another that had to self educate. I don’t buy toys as gifts. only books. my step grandchildren called me the book grandma. I still keep children’s books in my house.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Your post echoes my sentiments so exactly I feel as if I could have written it myself. I, too, have never known a time when I couldn’t read, nor a place a book couldn’t take me to. So happy for you that your wife is first, books and food next, in the foundation of life’s joys. And, I wish I could be in one of your literature classes when I’m not teaching the elementary children in my own.

    Like

    • Thank you for the comment and your kind words. I appreciate them. I hope you have the opportunity to take literature classes, and remember, teaching elementary children is one of the most important tasks anyone could have.

      Like

  9. It’s never too late, and you’re never too old to discover reading. Some of us were not childhood readers yet flourish in the world of books. It’s a wonderful thing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

